IFSTAL is strategically managed through two key groups:

IFSTAL Programme Committee

The IFSTAL Programme Committee has at least one representative appointed by each collaborating institution. The Programme Committee meets every two months. The purpose of each meeting of the Programme Committee is to:

(a)       to facilitate collaboration between the collaborating institutions;

(b)       to discuss and plan the conduct and progress of the project; and

(c)       to be the first point for resolving any challenges or disputes between the collaborating institutions.

The meetings of the Programme Committee are chaired by the Programme Leader, Dr John Ingram.

The Programme Leader has primary day-to-day responsibility for overseeing and providing leadership for the IFSTAL programme.

IFSTAL Advisory Board

An Advisory Board has been appointed by the Programme Committee to advise the collaborating institutions on developing and implementing a strategy for delivering the programme. The Board is chaired by David Docherty, Chief Executive of the National Centre for Universities and Business (NCUB). The inaugural members of the Advisory Board have been nominated by the collaborating parties and approved by the Programme Committee. Members of the Advisory Board are independent, are not appointed to represent the IFSTAL Programme Committee, and are appointed having regard to the principles of equality and diversity.

The IFSTAL Advisory Board is made up of the following members:



Collaborating Higher Education Institutions:

Olivia Fox, Senior Educational Technologist in the Department for Learning Enhancement and Development, City University London.

Dr Jonathan Heron, IATL Senior Teaching Fellow, Institute for Advanced Teaching and Learning, University of Warwick.

Kate Lindsay, Manager for Education Enhancement, IT Services, University of Oxford.

Liz Armitage-Chan, Senior Lecturer, Clinical Sciences and Services, Royal Veterinary College.

Professor Christine Williams, Director of Food, Agriculture and Health, School of Agriculture, Policy and Development, University of Reading.

External Members of the Advisory Board:

Andrew Bennett, President of the Tropical Agriculture Association.

Alan Hayes, Senior Sustainability Analyst, IGD (Institute of Grocery Distribution).

Harley Stoddart, Policy and Research Manager in Cereals and Oilseeds at the Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board.

Dr Angela Wright, Head of Science and Education, Compassion in World Farming.

Dr Alisdair Wotherspoon, Former Joint Head (retired), Chief Scientist Team, Food Standards Agency.

Helen Munday, Chief Scientific Officer, Food and Drink Federation.

Claire Spooner, Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

Student Representatives:

Yorick Bruins, IFSTAL Masters Student Representative, City University London.

Daniel Wilson, IFSTAL PhD Student Representative, Warwick University.


Dr Rosa Fernandez, Research Director, National Centre for Universities and Business.


Dr John Ingram, IFSTAL Programme Leader, Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford.

Roger Sykes (SECRETARY) IFSTAL Programme Manager, Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford.